Romans 5- goodness gracious this is good!

I often find myself feasting upon Romans 5. This chapter is so filling and encouraging! Don’t take my word for it…read it for yourself: 

 “… this kind of hope does not disappoint; the love of God has become an artesian well within us because of the gift of the Holy Spirit (If God is not embarrassed of us, then there is no reason why we should hang our heads in shame!) God’s timing was absolutely perfect; humanity was at their weakest when Christ died for them (we were bankrupt in our efforts to save ourselves). It is most unlikely that someone will die for another man, even if he is righteous; yet it is remotely possible that someone can brace such devotion that he would actually lay down his own life in an effort to save the life of an extraordinary good person. Herein is the extremity of God’s love gift: mankind was rotten to the core when Christ died their death. If God could love us that much when we were ungodly and guilty, how much more are we free to realize his love now that we are declared innocent by his blood? Our hostility towards God did not reduce his love for us; he saw equal value in us when he exchanged the life of his son for ours. Now that the act of reconciliation is complete, his life in us saves us from the guttermost to the uttermost. (reconciliation – a mutual exchange of equal value). Thus, our joyful boasting in God continues; Jesus Christ has made reconciliation a reality. One man opened the door to sin, sin introduced (spiritual) death; both sin and (spiritual) death had a global impact, no one escaped its tyranny…”

Romans 5:5-11 (The Mirror Translation). 

It’s good, right? I know I sort of cut the ending short, but I hope it just increases your curiosity!  

I love the part about God not being embarrassed about me! I tend to do really embarrassing things// get embarrassed easily (what can I say, I am just more sensitive in general) and it is nice to know that Papa God thinks I am pretty swell. No need to hang my head and partner with shame. *whew*

The past few months I have been amazed at how much He just really loves us. God just really really loves us a whole lot. Even when we are little stinkers and are rude. I don’t always like other people or feel like loving them when they are rude, but God is just really good at this and He is consistent! I don’t know how He does it, but the more I hang around Him the easier it becomes to love the one in front of me- rude, or mean, or hangry (hungry angry), or really anything. Sometimes I still don’t do the best job in the world, but I am growing and God loves me always. This is reassuring. 

Go ahead… read the rest of Romans 5… you know you want to… 

One thought on “Romans 5- goodness gracious this is good!

Leave a Reply

